St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

North Little Rock, Arkansas

Year Built: 2000
Manuals: 2
Stops: 26
Ranks: 33

Swell Organ (Expressive)

16′ Gedeckt
8′ Diapason
8′ Chimney Flute
8′ Salicional
8′ Voix Céleste CC
4′ Principal
4′ Harmonic Flute
2 2/3 Nasard
2′ Octavin
1 3/5 Tierce
II Plein Jeu
III Petit Plein Jeu
16′ Double Trumpet
8′ Trompette
8′ Hautbois
4′ Clairon
Swell to Swell 16′
Swell Unison Off
Swell to Swell 4′

Pedal Organ

32′ Basse
16′ Principal
16′ Subbass
16′ Gedeckt (SW)
8′ Octave
8′ Bourdon
8′ Violone (GT)
8′ Chimney Flute (SW)
5 1/3 Quint
4′ Super Octave
4′ Bourdon
16′ Trombone
16′ Double Trumpet (SW)
8′ Tromba
8′ Trumpet (SW)
4′ Tromba Clairon

Great Organ (Expressive)

16′ Violone
8′ Principal
8′ Harmonic Flute
8′ Bourdon
8′ Violone
4′ Octave
4′ Nachthorn
2′ Super Octave
V Fourniture
8′ Tromba (PED)
8′ Trumpet (SW)
8′ Clarinet
Great Unison Off


Great to Pedal (with toe piston)
Swell to Pedal (with toe piston)
Swell to Great
Tutti I (with toe piston)
Tutti II (with toe piston)


Great to Swell 8′
Swell to Great 16′ 8′ 4′
Great to Pedal 8′
Swell to Pedal 8′ 4′


12 General (with toe pistons)
5 Swell
5 Great
5 Pedal

The Nichols & Simpson organ at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in North Little Rock, Arkansas replaces a modest Wicks unit organ. In preparation for the installation of the Nichols & Simpson pipe organ, extensive modifications were made to the building to allow the instrument to be placed high on the axis of the building and to improve the acoustical environment of the room significantly. Scott Riedel was the church’s acoustical consultant. The new instrument features a moveable terraced console with manual natural keys of bone and sharps of rosewood, rosewood drawknobs and bone faces inset for engraving, and rosewood expression shoes.

Those who contributed to the realization of the organ include:

C. Joseph Nichols
(engineering, installation, tonal finishing)

Wayne E. Simpson III
(design, voicing, tonal finishing)

Duane Vanderpluym
(construction, installation)

Jorge A. Osorio
(console, construction, installation)

Timothy M. Bovard
(construction, installation)

David C. Scribner
(construction, installation)

Bryan K. Gray
(computer-aided drawing and design)

A. R. Schopp’s Sons